RSS

The Netherlands, aside from Amsterdam, where to visit?

11 Jan

Besides visiting Germany last November, I also had chance to visit Netherlands. I was wondering where else to visit, since I have been to Amsterdam during Christmas time in 2007. My friend in Amsterdam suggested me to visit Maastricht and Utrecht. So, I decided to follow her suggestions. I took early train from Dortmund at 7.20 am in the morning. Since at that time, it was almost winter, it was dark. The trip to Maastricht took several change of train in about 3 hours. I met my friend, Nancy and her husband there in Maastricht Central Station. We put my backpack there in the locker room in the train station and start our journey by walking to the city center.

Maastricht is a nice city, having a wide river which separated the city into two parts, the Maas River. It is similar to Praha in Czechs Republic, which also has wide river and seven bridges. In Maastricht, there are two main bridges to connect the city: Sint Servaasbrug and Wilhelminabrug. We walked through Sint Servaasbrug (Saint Servatius Bridge) and watch the beautiful scenery in our 360 degrees view. We stopped at the famous book store, Selexyz Dominicanen Bookstore, a church converted its function into a bookstore. We continued our walk and taking pictures and photos and stopped again at the Vrijthof, the best known square in the city. There, we took our brunch (breakfast lunch). I ordered ham sandwich and hot chocolate. It was nice to sit and watch the main square. The trees were cut, and had different unique shape.

Sint Servasbrug

Sint Servasbrug

Dominican Book Store

Vrijthof

Vrijthof

Later, we went walk back to the Central Station. We were going to buy the train ticket to Utrecht. The train ticket costed 17 Euros per person. The trip took 2 hours from Mastricht to Utrecht. In Utrecht, we arrived at 16.00 pm. We still had little chance to walk around before dark. The obvious thing in this city is the bicycle. You could see hundreds or even thousands of bicycle along the streets. Some were parked, and some were rode on.

In Utrecht, the canal was big and long, and there were many shops along it. The scenery was beautiful, especially with the autumn leaves. After sunset, we returned to Utrecht Central Station to continue our trip to Amsterdam.

Utrecht Canal

Utrecht Canal

Arriving in Amsterdam Central Station, me and my friend Nancy walked together to the city center, while her husband went of home for some rowing activities with his friends. Nancy and I went for the pickup boat to cross Amsterdam to the EYE Film Institute, the new building by Delugan Meissl Associate Architects (DMAA). The design was attractive, but too bad I couldn’t get a nice picture since it was dark. After coming back from the EYE, we decided to walk to the souvenirs shops and bought Türkische Dönner for our dinner.

We went to the cheapest souvenir shops in Amsterdam, the 5 Euros shop, but too bad the shop was closed already at 8 pm. Thus we decided to go there in the morning.

EYE Film Institute

EYE Film Institute

Dam Square

Dam Square

During morning, I could see that the shop was in the corner in across the Dam Square and Madam Tussaud Musem. The time was limited, thus I decided to buy all things necessary and went to the central station. My train left to Dortmund at 12.30 pm. It was nice roaming around again in Holland, especially with my friend-Nancy accompanied me. I would love to come back again to Amsterdam for sure.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 11, 2013 in TRAVEL, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
